Show Nav

$100 Child Sales Tax Rebate Available beginning May 15, 2018

Governor Scott Walker signed 2017 Wis. Act 367 (“Act 367”) on April 18, 2018. Act 367 creates a tax rebate for $100 per qualified child in 2017. The rebate is for Wisconsin sales and use tax paid on purchases made for raising a qualified child. A qualified child must be under 18 years of age for the entire year of 2017 and a dependent of the claimant. A qualified child may be claimed for the new rebate only once by one claimant.

Claimants who were full year residents in 2017 can claim a credit of $100 per qualified child regardless of the amount of sales and use tax paid in 2017. Claimants who are nonresidents, or a part-year residents as of December 31, 2017, will be required to verify nonbusiness Wisconsin sales or use taxes paid in 2017 and can only claim a rebate for the amount of sales and use taxes paid up to $100 per qualified child.

An eligible claimant may claim the rebate by submitting an online application with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (“DOR”) from May 15, 2018 to July 2, 2018. The online application can be accessed at https://www.childtaxrebate.wi.gov/. The DOR may request that the claimant verify the eligibility of the claimant or child by submitting to the department vital records information or any other information requested. 

DISCLAIMER: The information provided is for general informational purposes only. This post is not updated to account for changes in the law and should not be considered tax or legal advice. This article is not intended to create an attorney-client relationship. You should consult with legal and/or financial advisors for legal and tax advice tailored to your specific circumstances.

More from Business Minute