Reminder to Disclose Odometer Reading for Vehicles Model Year 2011 and Newer
Paul R. Norman | 04.05.21
Dealers now have a 20-year obligation to disclose the mileage of vehicles having a model year of 2011 and newer. Previously, dealers were not required to disclose the odometer mileage of any vehicle that was 10 years old or older. This meant that under prior law, if a dealer sold a 2011 model in 2021, it would not have been required to certify the odometer reading at the time of sale. But updates to state and federal law have changed that.
While vehicles having model year 2010 and older will retain their existing exemption, moving forward under current law, dealers must report the mileage for all vehicles manufactured in or after 2011 until the vehicle reaches 20 years old. In other words, if you sell a 2011 model in 2021, you now must disclose the vehicle’s odometer reading at the time of sale. If you do not sell that 2011 model until 2030, you still need to disclose the vehicle’s odometer reading at that time. Under the new odometer disclosure laws, your obligation to disclose the mileage on that 2011 model does not stop until 2031.
This change to Wisconsin’s odometer disclosure requirements went into effect on January 1, 2021. Wisconsin state law now conforms with federal regulations set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that are intended to manage the increasing longevity of newly manufactured vehicles. By extending odometer reporting requirements from 10 to 20 years for vehicles having a model year 2011 and newer, policymakers hope to deter odometer fraud of older vehicles in the future and increase consumer protection.
The information provided is for general informational purposes only. This post is not updated to account for changes in the law and should not be considered tax or legal advice. This article is not intended to create an attorney-client relationship. You should consult with legal and/or financial advisors for legal and tax advice tailored to your specific circumstances.